Personal · Sex/Weird

The Forever Nightmare

They say everyone dreams several times a night. In fact, during a typical lifetime, we spend about six years dreaming. The problem is that most of the time we don’t recall the dreams we’ve had. I’m one of those people that hardly ever remembers my dreams. For me it’s so unfortunate because dreams can actually be amazing pieces of art that we are unconsciously creating and to not be able to marvel at this work afterwards is a complete bummer. Sometimes I do remember my dreams, but if I don’t immediately tell someone my dream or write it down, it’s like it never happened. Then there are those dreams that will forever haunt us. The type of dream, or nightmare, that has us thrusting up in bed without breath and breaking sweats. For some reason these dreams stay with us. One dream in particular that I’ve always remembered happens to be one I had when I was around 9 years old.

We can call this a nightmare actually. I seemed to be in a castle set in medieval times. I was dressed in a simple, white, peasant looking dress. Immediately I could sense danger; I was in trouble. I started to run away from something, I didn’t know yet what I was running from. I could hear roaring behind me as I ran down a long corridor. I turned the corner and found my 9 year old self in the kitchen. In this large, cold, castle I finally found a face. She looked at me as if she was contemplating on what to do; as if she couldn’t decide whether to help me or let me be caught. She’d made up her mind and motioned towards a cabinet under the sink. I quickly opened it and shoved myself into the small space and waited. I desperately tried lionsto control my breathing as I heard the roaring getting closer. Finally, I saw it.
Through the micro crack between the cabinet door and its frame I saw the beast that had been chasing me. It was a large and sinister lion. My eyes grew wide and then I quickly shut them, fearing the worst if I had gotten caught. The beast tread slowly past the cabinet as if it knew I was around there somewhere.

 

The suspense was too much and I sprung up from my pillow in the darkness of my room. My breathing was fast and hard and mimicked the beating of my heart. I calmed down, lowered myself back onto my pillow and tried my hardest to think about happy thoughts, like unicorns and rainbows.

I will forever remember this nightmare.

 

Thanks for Reading!

 

Eileen ❤

 

2 thoughts on “The Forever Nightmare

  1. God, I know that feeling, when you’re so overwhelmed by a dream. I had a dream the other day that felt so real: I had quit my job, left with a big F*** YOU to management, and then when I woke up it was bittersweet. I still had to go into work. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Those kinds of dreams whether it be during REM or while zoning out at a desk are always quite bittersweet. Lol. Thanks for taking the time to read my post! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

