Personal

I’ve Got the Urge…

My favorite part of elementary school was always arts and crafts. I liked making things and putting them on display for the world to see. My elementary school teachers always made me feel like I had a real talent in the arts. I sang, danced, painted, constructed, even dabbled in some acting! When I left that perfect little bubble I no longer felt like I was special but I still drew characters and fashion models and such. I loved when my mom or dad brought furniture, the kind you needed to use tools to put together. Me and my dad would sit in the garage and sort all the pieces and screws and get to work. There was a sense of accomplishment, and once again it’d be on display for our guests to see.

 

As I got older, I built less, but I was still creating. I would come home everyday from class, turn on the stereo, pop in my favorite CD’s, and choreograph dance moves to each song. I thought maybe I could choreograph dance sequences for big pop stars someday. I also loved to sing. I sang my heart out, I thought I was actually good! I did the cliché singing into the hairbrush in front of the mirror thing. After high school, I taught myself how to play a couple of chords on the guitar. And when I learned enough songs, I was playing sold out crowds. Okay, that’s a lie, I was playing for a couple people in some guys garage but being the timid person that I am, it was a big deal.

 

Then college happens. At first I had bits and pieces of time to do away with however I pleased. By this time pinterest started taking off and it was so inspiring, and easy, to find DIY projects online. I remember going to the craft store and buying all the materials I needed to make a fabric chandelier for my bedroom. I drew out a picture of how I wanted to decorate my bedroom. Teal walls, my fabric chandelier dangling in the middle, white and tan bed linen, and beautiful sheer window curtains. It was one of the biggest projects I had ever taken on and could create. I only got through half of the project because of money issues. But even when I wasn’t physically creating, phone apps helped me create. Taking and editing pictures with phone apps was my favorite pastime.  The amount of filters and stickers I used was ridiculous. Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 11.45.36 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 11.45.53 AM

 

School got harder. I spent more time stressing and studying than anything else. I started finding more comfort in my bed, netflix, and browsing social media than anything else when I found myself with time off. I stopped creating. Inside, I feel this heaviness. The heaviness comes from all of the desire I have to use my hands, to create/design, to do-it-myself, to be artistic. I want to make things and put proudly display them in my home. So, I’m going to make it my goal every month to take on a project so that I may slowly get rid of the heaviness I feel inside and feed the urge I have to do what has always felt natural to me.

 

Thanks for reading!

 

Eileen ❤

3 thoughts on “I’ve Got the Urge…

  1. Enjoyed this read. When I was younger I used to build model planes and boats. There was a hobby shop near my parents house and I would walk over and buy a kit with money I saved from lunch money or the random money I would get. This brought me back.

  2. Awesome…you going to post your projects? This seems like something you really enjoy doing, so I’m glad you’re getting back into it. I’ve never been super successful at being artistic (my sister was always better), but I still love doing it too. Even making a blog is fun for me cause you can pick colors and change the layout.

    1. Lol. I thought about posting it! Even if it turns out a failed diy it’d be a good blog post. Thanks for the encouragement! If you love doing it too, remember you can only get better the more you do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

