Personal

Family-in-law

Why is it that we can never get along with our spouses family members??

Maybe that’s not the case for you but it just seems like if it’s not our father in law or mother law, someone on the other side of the fence is always making a hurtful comment, starting a rumor, or just speculating about your relationship.

This can’t just be happening to me, right? All married couples go through this, no?

The thing is that I hardly interact with these people! Some, intentionally, and others only because busy lifestyles and work are constant obstacles. Those that I do have a good rapport with I’m always sure to offer a helping hand if I can.

It always hurts to find out that someone who is supposed to be a friend, and now family through marriage, could be spreading lies or talking badly about me and my relationship. It sucks that I have to be censored or really think hard about things that I can and cannot talk about in front of them.

I’m already so closed off to people and becoming close to anyone outside of my circle of friends and family at this point is just not even an option. Because I am this way and away from my closest friends, life can become so lonely.

Before I had my son I was constantly depressed and unhappy with my life. And I’m not saying that those feelings are completely gone now that he’s in my life. Every now and then they creep up especially when an event happens that leaves me feeling like I can’t trust or get close to anyone around me.

I try to be friendly to them all regardless of what they say or do because my mom showed me that being forgiving and kind to everyone comes back to us.

So give me some advice.

How do you handle your spouses’ family bad mouthing you?

Thanks in advanced,

Me

Leave a comment